The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring and The Two Towers 2001 Movie Tie-In

My first copies of The Fellowship of the Ring and The Two Towers are these movie Tie-In Editions from Ballantine Books, published in 2001. The Fellowship is the 100th printing and Towers is the 130th printing. I’m quite terrible at making out the exact year of publication of Tolkien books, they give me more trouble than many others for some reason. I loathe Tie-In covers, but I bought these on Amazon, and did not realize they were the Tie-In version when I bought them (at least Christopher Lee is on the cover). I always prefer buying used books. While a cheaper price is always great, older books seem to have so much more character, and if they have had a long publishing history (like the Lord of the Rings), you can learn a lot, and maybe find something rare. While I hate the Tie-In covers, these are the only reading copies I have of the books. They’re for reading, so I don’t have to care much for them, and the contents are the same of course. It helps that I enjoy the movies. These are pretty standard. I’m not entirely sure, but I think I read somewhere that there were various covers for the movie Tie-In books, which is awesome. The copies I have happen to be Frodo and Sauman. Happy Collecting!

Leave a Reply

