The Hobbit 2012 Deluxe Leather-Bound Pocket Edition

hlc.jpg

​                The leather-bound pocket deluxe edition (what a mouthful) of The Hobbit is the first I owned. It’s not the first copy I read though. I was introduced to The Hobbit much earlier than The Lord of the Rings, but that will be explained later. This edition of the book was published in 2012 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, based on their publishing of the text in the 1995 edition, which I find amusing. I’m not exactly sure which edition I have, the number line reads as follows: SCP 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1. The information page states that its a 2007 edition, but the front page is where I got the 2012. I love this edition, it’s small (Hobbit sized perhaps), leather bound and the pages are gilded. It’s a great looking book. I picked it up at a Target the day after Black Friday a few years ago. There’s a white mark on the back cover, which was there when I bought it, but it was the only one left, so I made do. It’s a fantastic presentation of a influential and timeless story.

Leave a Reply

